Appendix A

Appointment to Vacant Positions on Committees and Other Fora

Key

Appointment by Leader is highlighted in Green Appointment by Full Council is highlighted in Yellow

Town Chair and Vice Chair (2019/2020)

(Lab 6)

Oldbury

S Davies (Deputy: R Jones)

Rowley Regis

Ashman (Deputy: Mabena)

Smethwick

Ahmed (Deputy: Bawa)

Tipton

I Jones (Deputy: Chidley)

Wednesbury

O Jones (Deputy: Simms)

West Bromwich

Melia (Deputy: E A Giles)

(Deputy: McVittie)

Planning Committee (2019/2020)

(16 members to be geographically representative) (Lab 15) (Opp 1)

Chair Downing

Vice-Chair Hevican

Ahmed Allen Chidley S Davies Dhallu M Hussain Mabena Millar

Rouf Shackleton Simms Taylor Trow

White (Opp)

Emergency Committee (2019/2020)

(7 members) (Lab 7)

Chair Leader (Y Davies)

Vice-Chair Cabinet Member x 5 (Appointment to be made by

the Leader)

Scrutiny Chair x 1 (Appointment by Full Council)

Ethical Standards and Member Development Committee (2019/2020)

(8 elected members)

(Lab 7 Opp 1) + 3 independent persons

Chair Lewis

Vice-Chair Ahmed

Akhter Dhallu Hevican Horton Simms

White (Opp)

(+ 3 independent persons)

Audit and Risk Assurance Committee (2019/2020)

(7 members) + 3 independent members (Lab 6 Opp 1)

Chair Bostan

Vice Chair Mr Ager (Independent Member)

Allen

M Y Hussain

Jarvis Moore Preece

White (Opp)

(+2 independent members)

Select Committee for Electoral Participation (2019/2020)

(5 members + 1 Co-opted) (Lab 4 Opp 1)

Chair Melia

E A Giles Hadley P Hughes

Cherrington (Opp)

Adrian Bailey MP

Chief Officer Terms and Conditions Committee (2019/2020)

(7 members) (Lab 7)

Chair Leader (Y Davies)

Vice-Chair Deputy Leader (Khatun)

Plus five members drawn from the following:-

Cabinet Members or chairs or vice-chairs of relevant boards/committees/panels.

Chief Officers Terms and Conditions Appointments Sub-Committee

Leader plus two members selected by the Chair from Cabinet Members and Scrutiny Chairs to deal with appointments to and the determination of matters relating to posts designated as service manager tier 2.

Governance and Constitution Review Committee (2019/2020)

(8 members) (Lab 7 Opp 1)

Chair Leader (Y Davies)

Ali Bostan Crompton I Jones Lewis Rollins

White (Opp)

Adoption Panel (2019/2020)

1 x Vacant (any member)

Fostering Panel (2019/2020)

1 x Vacant (any member)

Scrutiny Boards (2019/2020)

Budget and Corporate Scrutiny Management Board

(6 members) (Lab 5) (1 Opp)

Chair

1 x Vacant

Chairs of 4
Scrutiny Boards
(Vice Chair to be determined from remaining Scrutiny Chairs)

White (Opp)

Children's Services and Education Scrutiny Board

(11 members + 4 co-opted members) (Lab 10 Opp 1)

Chair 1 x Vacant Vice-Chair 1 x Vacant

Allen
Ashman
Carmichael
Costigan
Z Hussain
McVittie
Phillips
1 x Vacant

1 x Vacant (Opp)

- 1 Church of England Diocese representative (Reverend P French)
- 1 Roman Catholic Archdiocese representative
- 2 Parent Governor representatives

Scrutiny Boards (cont) (2019/2020)

Economy, Skills, Transport and Environment Scrutiny Board

(11 members) (Lab 10 Opp 1)

Chair

1 x Vacant Seat/Role

Vice-Chair

1 x Vacant

Seat/Role

(1 x Vacant seat only)

Allcock
Chidley
Crumpton
Eaves
Hackett
Padda
Rollins
Shackleton
Worsey

Cherrington (Opp)

Health and Adult Social Care Scrutiny Board

(11 members) (Lab 10 Opp 1)

Chair Vice-Chair 1 x Vacant 1 x Vacant

Carmichael
Costigan
E M Giles
R Jones
Kausar
Phillips
Piper
Tranter

White (Opp)

Scrutiny Boards (cont) (2019/2020)

Safer Neighbourhoods and Active Communities Scrutiny Board

(11 members + 1 co-opted member) (Lab 10 Opp 1)

Chair 1 x Vacant

Seat/Role

Vice-Chair 1 x Vacant

Seat/Role

(1 x Vacant seat only)

Akhter Bawa Bostan Edwards M Gill

M Y Hussain

S Jones Padda Sandars

Cherrington (Opp)

1 Co-opted member

Licensing Committee (2019/2020)

(15 non-Executive members)

(Lab 14 Opp 1)

Chair Allen

Vice-Chair Rouf

Vice-Chair S Davies

Crumpton
Dhallu
Downing
Eaves
E M Giles
L Giles
G Gill
I Jones
O Jones
Moore
Preece

Cherrington (Opp)

General Purposes and Arbitration Committee (2019/2020)

(7 non-Executive members)

(Lab 6 Opp 1)

Chair Dhallu

Vice-Chair Z Hussain

Crumpton
E A Giles
P M Hughes

Melia Millar

White (Opp)

Joint Consultative Panel (2019/2020)

(6 members) (Lab 5 Opp 1)

Chair 1 x Vacant Role

Bawa Horton M Hussain Taylor Tranter

White (Opp)

Land and Asset Management Committee (2019/2020)

(7 members) (Lab 6 Opp 1)	
Chair	1 x Vacant Role
	Costigan
	L Giles
	P M Hughes
	Moore Sandars
	Singh
	Cg
	White (Opp)

Cabinet Advisor (formerly Member Champion) (2019/2020)

(Lab 6)	
Allcock G Gill M Hussain S Jones Padda 1 x Vacant	

Sandwell Sport and Leisure Built Facilities Strategy Steering Group (2019/2020)

5 members) (Lab 4 Opp 1)

Chair Leader (Y Davies)

Ahmed Melia S Davies

White (Opp)

Commonwealth Games 2022 Steering Group (2019/2020)

(5 members) (Lab 4 Opp 1)

Chair Leader (Y Davies)

Ali M Gill Horton

White (Opp)

Appointments made by the Executive

Health and Wellbeing Board (2019/2020)

(4 members) (Lab 4)

Leader of the Council (Y Davies)

Cabinet Member x 3

Leader to determine which Cabinet Members

Non voting members:

Chair - Health & Adult Social Care Scrutiny Board

Chair – Children's Services & Education Scrutiny Board

Other Board members as agreed by Council on 18 October, 2016:-

NHS Commissioning Board:

One representative of the NHS England - Birmingham, Solihull and the Black Country Area Team (without voting rights)

Sandwell and West Birmingham Clinical Commissioning Group:

Four representatives (three with voting rights and one without voting rights)

Healthwatch Sandwell:

One representative (with voting rights)

Black Country Partnership NHS Foundation Trust (without voting rights)

One representative of West Midlands Police (without voting rights)

One representative of West Midlands Fire and Rescue Service (without voting rights)

One representative of Sandwell Council of Voluntary Organisations (without voting rights)

Strategic Waste Partnership Board (2019/2020)

(3 members) (Lab 3)

Leader of the Council (Y Davies)

2 x Cabinet Member

(Leader to determine which Cabinet Members)

(and representatives of Serco)

Cabinet Petitions Committee 2019/2020)

(8 members) (Lab 8)

Chair 1 x Cabinet Member

Leader to appoint a Chair of the Committee

All members of the Cabinet